The Fault in Our StarsThe Fault in Our Stars by John Green
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

this book was, well, ok. it’s very funny in places, and rather heartbreaking in others. it will definitely make you think twice about putting another cigarette between your lips, if you smoke. but ultimately i will probably forget entirely about this book.

i wish i could pinpoint the difference between what makes a book a standout and what makes it forgettable. this book really does seem to have it all: young love, quirky but not preposterous characters, the specter of the Big C hanging over all. and it really is funny, even when it’s the bleakest of black humor. it’s well-told, well-paced, well-plotted, with characters nicely delineated and consistent in their actions.

so why does it leave me fairly meh? i am guessing that it’s because it doesn’t tell me anything i don’t already know. there’s no there, there. i require some kind of insight that will take me out of my own stale thoughts, and i didn’t find it here.

i will re-read it in a year or so, perhaps my two cents will become five cents. the fault here may be in the reviewer, not the book

